Whittington Bungalow: The Great Caretaker

This post is going is to be abit emotional.. or maybe not.. I dunno I just started

Before you proceed, maybe you would like to read up about the caretaker in Fraser Hill and caretaker for Whittington Bungalow here:  http://frasershill-juneartstudio.blogspot.com/2009/05/charming-place_18.html

My sister told me that the caretaker of Whittington Bungalow is a very good cook and he has serve the Angmo before. He has become a great caretaker and has done an excellent job. Because of his fame and the idea of staying in one of the colonial bungalow, we quickly make a trip to Fraser Hill before he retire. True enough, during our stay there we actually told the caretaker Mr. Lim Jeow Fong that we’ll come back next year and really hope to see him again.

Mr. Lim told us, he and his wife will be retiring this coming July! (Oh no… oh no.. why retire so soon?) My heart quickly sunk but its really selfish to beg him to continue serving and taking care of Whittington after 40+ years with the same role and he is already 70+ years old. I wonder will he be in tears when he bid goodbyes to Whittington and move to Subang Jaya to be reunited with his four children. We told him that the weather in KL is very hot, and he agrees and would try to gives himself 6 months to adjust to the new environment. ..

Some of the pictures to share.. of the food prepared by Mr. Lim.

Our Lunch on Saturday, home cook chinese food. The vegetables are actually grown at the garden by the caretaker’s auntie. Unbelievably very nice leh the food, no MSG!

Tea Time at 4pm, the curry puff bake by Mr. Lim.. my heart actually melted. Very very tasty and the tea!! OMG the Tea.. how can he brew the tea till so fragrant?

Dinner

Pay attention.. see how he placed the cutleries.. this is the formal dinner cutleries arrangement and the Tomato soup is so creamy!!!… I actually wanted to ask for more.. but too shy to ask and now I regretted.

The bun, freshly baked, so crunchy and yummy and .. and and.. I’m I’m I’m.. I cannot describe how awesome it is. See the sauce there? Its homemade tartar sauce!

Main course I had Chicken Chop! Heavenly taste.. Super Super Triple Super Nice!

Dessert Chocolate Pudding.. Can you see the smoke? Freshly baked, not too sweet, Dunno how to describe it.

Message to Mr & Mrs. Lim (If you happen to stumbled upon my blog or if your children saw this, pls pass the message)

Thank you very much! We truly enjoy staying in Whittington and we truly love the food that you have prepared! Please give me your phone number, will you bake me another Chocolate Pudding?

 ___________________________________________________________________

Not so related to Mr. Lim's cooking, but also want to share here.

 Here’s some of the interesting Old times pieces found in Whittington

The very old Directory published in the Year of 1966!

Old Advertisement

Look at the Sime Darby Logo! Before and Now

                                      

The Old time Fireplace

The Door Knob and Key Hole.. No Peeping!

Habis!

  1. #1 by Jessie on March 27, 2012 - 5:10 pm

    Hi Ms Homely,

    You can contact Mr Lim’ s daughter Soo Lee at her H/phone 019-2194505 to place your chocolate pudding order. Bye

    Jessie

  2. #2 by Jon Gepford on March 21, 2012 - 11:58 pm

    My family and I stayed at the Whittington in 1970. We drove down from Bangkok, Thailand and stayed in Penang with friends for a few days. Frazer’s Hill and the Whittington were a wonderful place to cool off and enjoy. Such great memories.

    • #3 by blurcheryl on March 22, 2012 - 11:31 am

      I’m envious that you’ve seen the once New, Grand and Glory of Whittington in the 70’s. I hope you’ll come Malaysia again and have a walk down memory lane. You can have dinner or lunch arranged at Whittington, but not stay.

  3. #4 by Bell on April 6, 2011 - 4:06 pm

    I was trying to look for the contact for a stay in this Whittington bungalow but….really not open for public? Any recommendation from you? We’re trying to stay in a bungalow for our Fraser’s trip.
    Thanks

    • #5 by blurcheryl on April 6, 2011 - 6:04 pm

      I am so sorry, it is private property.
      You may stay at The Smokehouse looks cosy and nice.

      I remember there’s this Muar bangalow you may google the contact

      By the way I’ve my own website http://www.mrshomely.com feel free to drop by!

      Thanks

  4. #6 by June Lim on September 16, 2010 - 4:32 pm

    Hi Mrshomely,

    I’m Jessie, thanks for sharing your wonderful article regarding about my uncle at Whittington Bungalow. Hope to meet you to share more…… ha ha

    • #7 by blurcheryl on September 19, 2010 - 11:25 am

      Hi Jessie.. Mr. Lim your uncle? Wow! Great, meeting up is a good idea!

  5. #8 by kevin on August 31, 2010 - 7:25 pm

    Hey, do you have the contact to the Whittington bungalow?

  6. #9 by berrymelon1437101 on June 10, 2010 - 9:48 am

    So nice… so only Sime Darby employee can book ah? what if other people want to book, any where? … Thank you for the sharing 🙂

    • #10 by blurcheryl on June 10, 2010 - 5:28 pm

      Berry.. I think the Muar Bangalow are up for public rental not too sure. Maybe you google abit ..

  7. #11 by blurcheryl on June 10, 2010 - 9:32 am

    I regret didn’t take photo with him.

  8. #12 by AhJoJo on June 10, 2010 - 8:21 am

    Drooollllll—gosh, everything look so yummy, im hungry now! i wanna eat d chicken chop! hehe..but hor, why no Mr Lim picgture geh? too shy to be in it ahh?

Leave a comment