Steamed Garlic Freshwater Patin Fish

Its been a while since I last cook.. don’t know why so busy. Busy at being lazy. Its also time for us to finish the fish in the fridge, so this time I have successfully steam the freshwater patin fish without the  need to put too much ginger to kill the fishy taste. With the fresh fish and my cooking skill, it turn out the steam fish is so delicious!! Puji sendiri.

This is how I get rid of the fishy smell of the fish. (Actually this patin, so fresh, and don’t have smell, but I choose to do it this way so you know the alternative way to kill fishy smell). First of all, clean the fish. Then boil the water in the wok, and put on slow fire once the water came to the boiling point. Bath the fish with the hot simmering water for 2-3 minutes to remove the blood water and the fishy smell. Discard the water, and put the fish into a large steaming pan or plate.

 

 I also experiment with oven baked garlic, to make the patin fish more flavourful and fragrant. To bake the garlic, pour the olive oil onto the garlic, coat evenly and bake it for 15 minutes.  Once the garlic is done, mashes it and coat it ontop of the fish.

 

 To make the sauce,  fry thin strips of ginger and add soy sauce about 3 tablespoon. I like to use the space brand available from Kuantan. Pour the cooked sauce onto the fish, I also add 2 tablespoon of XiaoShing wine. Put the fish into the wok for steaming for about 7-10 minutes or until cooked.

Tadaa!!! Garlic Patin Fish

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment