Rosemary Roast Chicken

Last saturday I roast a ‘M’ size chicken for the 1st time and here’s the outcome.
 
 
Me: The chicken is ready
Hubby: Okay, faster serve
Me: Okay, I give you drumstick want or not
Hubby Muka Masam
Me: Okay I give you chicken breast okay? You like breast right?
Hubby finish half the chicken breast I serve.
Hubby: Baby.. got summo?
Me: Okay okay, you want chicken wing? I give you chicken wing.
Hubby: Look at the bone..I’m still not full..   can you leave the whole chicken here?
 
My hubby didn’t get to eat more of the roast chicken, because I am suppose to go back to my mum’s and bring her out to do some shopping. So I bring the roast chicken back for my family to enjoy as their dinner.
 
Let me show you how the roasting is done here.
 
Firstly you need  Chicken. Wash thoroughly, remove watever stuck inside.. remove the neck part.
Then use about half block of butter at room temperature, add some spices.. I added rosemary, ground pepper and some salt. Mix all together then stuff all the butter under the skin of the chicken breast. See closely as in the photo you can see clumps of yellowish butter under the chicken skin..spread evenly. Inside the stomach of the chicken, I stuff some chinese parsley and half orange to plump up the chicken so that when roasting the heat can cook the chicken evenly I think. Tie the chicken leg, so it has a better form, look nicer ma.  Rub the chicken with olive oil all over, sprinkle some salt on the chicken skin, and roast the chicken breast side up because the meat there is thicker.
 
For a M size chicken, you can roast it for abt 1.5hrs at 220 celcius and baste the chicken with the juices and melted butter, chicken fat..for several times
Look at the Rosemary Roast Chicken.. perfectly roast I think.
You can use the juice to make some sauce, but I haven’t got time for it, so I’ll show how its done next time.

  1. #1 by Shelyn on July 23, 2010 - 4:06 pm

    Wow… I’m drooling now. I have roasted turkey before, but not chicken. Used similar technique also. Should try roast chicken one day.

    • #2 by blurcheryl on July 23, 2010 - 4:37 pm

      Hi Shelyn,

      Wahahaha my oven not big enough to roast turkey, but I’d like to try turkey someday. Share your culinary skills too in your blog.. how are you? Its been ages since you blog dear!

  2. #3 by blurcheryl on July 21, 2010 - 9:42 am

    Thank KIU!

  3. #4 by Melissa Tham on July 21, 2010 - 9:18 am

    GOOD JOB!! Looks nice…you has turned to be a creative & good chef now! =)

Leave a Reply

