I love Scones with Strawberry Jam

Do you like Scones? I do! Ever since I came back from Fraser Hill, I’ve been thinking about scones scone scones. Even my K Pop Idol is now stored in my cupboard for a while, due to my latest Scones Obsession. If you didn’t know, I love everything Victorian, and so does English Tea Time. So on this fine day, I don’t have to go to work and my buddy Renee happens to be free in the afternoon.  I invited Renee over to my house. Ooh.. and the weather is good and sunny! So I decided to make scones for our English Tea Time. This time, Renee will be my guinea pig.. and I know she is more than excited to taste what I bake for her.

To be exact, my English Tea Time is define as Afternoon Cream Tea, which involves Cream of course!

Ingredients needed:

1) Cold Unsalted Butter. It has to be cold, so you can dice it. I use about 80gm or / 5 slices -1 cm thick of butter. 

2) 2 cups of Flour. I use Wheat Flour which is more fragrant. Alternatively, either use Self Raising Flour or normal flour will do. Sift the flour, so the texture of the scones could be finer. I didn’t do so, as I don’t have any mesh sieve I could use 😦

 

3) Also needed, Baking Powder 1 1/2 table spoon. Bought this from Korean market hehe

 

 4) 1 teaspoon of salt and 1 packet of granulated sugar. I never buy any sugar, so this one courtesy from Renaissance Hotel.

 

5) 1 egg and 1 1/4 cup of dairy milk. You can substitue the milk with sour cream or cream of tartar. Up to you.

 6) Don’t forget Whipped Cream! My choice.. always go for the healthier ones. ‘Lite’

 

 Methods:

Firstly

  • Preheat oven to 200 celcius, lightly dust the baking tray with flour, set aside. Sift the flour into a large bowl.
  • Mix all the Dry Ingredients into the flour- Baking Powder, Salt and Sugar.
  •  Mix all the Wet Ingredients – Egg + Milk like this.
  • Leave some egg for later. ‘Egg wash’
  • Using your fingertips, rub butter with Dry Ingredients, until it resembles breadcrumbs like this.

  • Make a well at the centre of the flour and add the Wet Ingredients.

  • Use a fork to mix the Wet and Dry Ingredients together until it is fully mixed and  turn to a ball, if its too dry, add more milk.

  • The dough ball is very sticky now. Dust the work table with plenty of flour and also apply some flour on your palm so when you handle the sticky dough ball, it doesn’t stick to your hand.
  • Knead dough gently until the surface is smooth. (Don’t Knead too much, scones will be tough, just a few knead will do. Make it to a round ball, and flatten it about an inch high. You don’t need a rolling pin, your hand can do marvelous.
  
  • Use a round cutter, cut out as many rounds and you can. combine dough and do the same thing, so there won’t be any wastage. I don’t have any cutter, so I use beer glass, work the same. Place the scones dough onto the prepared baking tray.
  
  • Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes. Take it out and apply egg wash on top of the scones and bake for another 2-3 minutes.
  
  • Tadaa!! Set aside to cool. If you use egg white only for the egg wash, the scones wont be so brown. AND get the tea ready!

Now.. Look at the fluffly scones!

Apply some Homemade Strawberry Jam on top of the scones (Halves) and top it with whipped cream.

Blisss!! Afternoon Cream Tea Party is Ready!

 

 YUMMY!

 

,

  1. #1 by Berry on June 22, 2010 - 9:25 am

    Wah.. again!!! you really so bad… make me hungry only 😦

    • #2 by blurcheryl on June 22, 2010 - 9:36 am

      Berry, I want make u fat. Go get somethin to eat.. scones maybe

  2. #3 by Flora on June 22, 2010 - 9:18 am

    Wow…making me crave for scones too…with homemade jam some more…

Leave a Reply

